Getting an M&P Shield

Getting an M&P Shield

This is a discussion on Getting an M&P Shield within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am on a waiting list at a LGS for a Shield 9mm and was told the shipment should be coming in on Monday or ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Getting an M&P Shield

Getting an M&P Shield

I am on a waiting list at a LGS for a Shield 9mm and was told the shipment should be coming in on Monday or Tuesday. And it's not a bad price either at $389!

This will be my first gun (I have some experience putting about 600 rounds through a Glock 17) so naturally I am doing a ton of research on the best holster and other things.

The two things I'm not sure on what to buy right now is a good IWB holster and what to buy for cleaning the guy prior to shooting it for the first time.

A holster I'm looking at right now is the Alien Gear Hybrid Holster for s w M P Shield Leather Kydex IWB | eBay

It looks pretty solid, if not a little thick, and has screws instead of rivets for the kydex part. Anyone have experience with this brand?

Also, I am not sure what to buy for cleaning the gun. I looked on Amazon and found this basic kit: Amazon.com: Hoppe's Cleaning Kit for .38, .357 Caliber 9mm Pistol with Aluminum Rod, Box E/F: Sports & Outdoors

Any opinions on that?
    Kilowatt3 and Bad Bob like this.

VIP Member
    First off, welcome to the forum.

As to your questions. Any basic gun cleaning kit will get you started. You might want to look into different lubes. I prefer a Teflon based lube from my guns. It's basically personal preference.

No experience with the holster your looking at. My preference is all leather. Since it uses screws to hold the holster to the backing, I would suggest a dab of blue Loctite on the thread to keep the screws from backing out. Will still be able to disassemble it if needed. DO NOT use Red Loctite. You won't be able to take it apart if you do.