newbie looking for Advice on next set of guns to try before buying?

This is a discussion on newbie looking for Advice on next set of guns to try before buying? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am very new to pistol shooting (last Saturday). I took my NRA Basic Pistol class. Shot 50 round of .22 long and hit the ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: newbie looking for Advice on next set of guns to try before buying?

newbie looking for Advice on next set of guns to try before buying?

I am very new to pistol shooting (last Saturday). I took my NRA Basic Pistol class. Shot 50 round of .22 long and hit the target all 50 times at 15 feet. This is a great first step for me because I have been afraid of guns after 2 traumatic incidences. But mentally I am ready and willing to take the next step. Tonight I am heading to the range for some more .22 practice. On Thursday my wonderful hubby and I will be moving up to try 9mm's. After that I will try .40 cal.

In the gun stores I really like the feel of the Glock 19, the M&P (the compact didn't fir my hand well because grip felt too short) and the Beretta 9mm. I am looking eventually for a conceal carry but first I have to know what I can handle, what I will like enough to practice with and then what I can conceal carry.

There are so many different guns out there. I need a place to start. Something very reliable, easy to get parts for, & because I have very long narrow fingers something I can fit in my hand.

I would love a list of 6 different guns of different calibers that I can rent and check off my list. Any help would be appreciated!

2. Remove Ads

Well, you started out with the feel of the 'best'...the Glock-19 would be dependable, an excellent shooter, and would be easy to carry/conceal. If you like 9mm, then also look at the Glock-26...even easier to conceal.