Bodyguard 380 Magazine Difficulty

This is a discussion on Bodyguard 380 Magazine Difficulty within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First off I am a newbie to all of this. I recently purchased a BG 380 and I am a bit frustrated. One of the ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Happypuppy

Thread: Bodyguard 380 Magazine Difficulty

Bodyguard 380 Magazine Difficulty

First off I am a newbie to all of this. I recently purchased a BG 380 and I am a bit frustrated. One of the main reasons that I went got a pistol vs a revolver was the capacity. My BG will not accept a fully loaded magazine with six rounds. Loading five is no problem. After
    contacting S&W customer service, I was instructed to break it in with 300+ rounds as my situation is normal. Normal? Really? I should bot expect to carry more than five rounds until I put hundreds of rounds through this thing first? Something doesnt seem right with this. Am I being paranoid or asking too much for this pistol to initially function as designed? Anyone else in the same boat?

2. Remove Ads

Define "accept". What is happening? Is it failing to feed with six rounds in the magazine, but not with five? Or is the magazine literally not going into the gun, or what? Have you tried this with more than one magazine, and is the malfunction exactly the same with each of them?

Senior Member Array sonnycrocket's Avatar
    mine holds 6 no prob plus one in the pipe =7

Whats the prob?

I have the Bodyguard .380 and have had no difficulty putting the required number of rounds in each magazine.

There is sometimes a problem with the set screw that holds in the Laser. It can worm it's way out a bit and cause the pistol to not chamber a round or when a round is inside of the chamber, it will not eject.

Take the slide off and look at the small hex screw and tighten it down so that the slide does not scrape across it. That may be your problem.
    "A Smith & Wesson always beats 4 aces!"