Subcompact .45 or 9mm?

This is a discussion on Subcompact .45 or 9mm? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; OK I currently carry a M&P 9c but I am looking at something smaller and lighter. I want something that will be easier to conceal ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Subcompact .45 or 9mm?

Subcompact .45 or 9mm?

OK I currently carry a M&P 9c but I am looking at something smaller and lighter. I want something that will be easier to conceal when I am in a tucked polo, which I wear at work when weather permits. I am considering switching to a .45 cal like a XDS but am also thinking maybe it makes sense to stay with what I am familiar with. I am relatively new to CC, and by no means a gun expert. My reasoning for going to .45 is to offset the smaller size of the barrel of the XDS.

So I am looking for advice from those of you who have lots of experience with different guns. How does the XDS .45 recoil compare to the M&P 9c? Does it make sense to change caliber size?

So I will be either getting a subcompact .45, like the XDS or a subcompact 9mm, like the Shield. Also I want to add I will be primarily IWB carrying what ever I get. No pocket carry for me. I can't stand anything in my pockets. My wallet and keys are bad enough. Even in loose cargo type pants.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
    gatorbait51 and medmunds21 like this.

2. Remove Ads

For a tucked-in Polo Shirt, I'd go with a PF9 or a M&P Shield in 9 or 40, same size.

PF9 weighs 12 oz & the Shields weigh 19 oz., Shields are 0.95 in thick. PF9 is 0.88 inch thick.
    Last edited by patri0t; December 15th, 2013 at 07:23 PM.
    Retired State Trooper (40 long years) 8 years State Range Instructor - BS Degree- Justice, MS Degree- Criminology
    All forms of Gun Control are Unconstitutional / Illegal and beyond the scope of the US. Supreme Court.
    "He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one"- Luke 22:36