Taurus 608 8" .357 Mag

Taurus 608 8" .357 Mag

This is a discussion on Taurus 608 8" .357 Mag within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm resdy to buy a new gun in the $500 or less range. I was planning on a new S&W 642 for the carry rotation ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bama61

Thread: Taurus 608 8" .357 Mag

Taurus 608 8" .357 Mag

I'm resdy to buy a new gun in the $500 or less range. I was planning on a new S&W 642 for the carry rotation as my first revolver, but I saw a friend of mine selling a Taurus 608.

I have no real personal experience with revolvers, other then maybe a box of ammo through a friends old Smith, and a round or two through a big .44 Mag at the range.

Would this revolver be a good first revolver? Mainly just as something to target shoot with at the range. He is asking $550, but I'd probably offer $500.

I picked up a Taurus model 669 in .357 Magnum back in the 90's. My brother purchased an identical revolver on the same day that I bought mine, 3 serials lower than mine. He had nothing but problems with it, sent it back to Taurus for repairs 3 times and finally sold it. He never even got 50 rounds through it. I know several people with similar stories. I've ran thousands of rounds through mine without a single problem though, and I still take it to the range every time I go. I'll never buy another Taurus, but I will enjoy the one I own for as long as it holds together. It's strictly a range gun, and will never be the gun I'll count on to protect my family.

My understanding is that Taurus quality is hit-or-miss. Has your friend put a lot of rounds through it? Has he had any problems with it? It might be one of the good ones. If I were you though, I'd have a lot more confidence in the Smith, and when it comes to protecting your life and the lives of your loved ones, you need to be confident that it's going to work when you need it most.