1911 for Home Defense?

1911 for Home Defense?

This is a discussion on 1911 for Home Defense? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So to preface, I started shooting about a year ago and carrying about 8 months ago. I currently carry a Sig P938. I have a ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree108Likes

Thread: 1911 for Home Defense?

1911 for Home Defense?

So to preface, I started shooting about a year ago and carrying about 8 months ago. I currently carry a Sig P938. I have a Ruger SR9c with a 17 round mag with an attached flashlight as my bedside gun and I also have a Browning Hi-Power in 9mm.

The thing is, I have fallen in love with the SA triggers. So much that I can't shoot the Ruger nearly as accurately as my other two pistols. I honestly shoot the 938 better.

So I've been thinking about getting a .45 for HD anyways. But if I get a 1911, I might want to carry it at some point as well. Wouldn't want to spend more than $600-$700.

Any reliable options?
    gatorbait51 likes this.

Ruger SR1911 great gun for the money. Lots of bells and whistles and quality construction. Remington 1911R1 basic 1911 but has a better sighting system than most GI style 1911's. Remington also has a matched barrel and bushing. Either one is a very accurate and dependable handgun priced between $600-$700.
    "Kimbers are the guns you show your friends, Glocks are the guns you show your enemies."

RIA is the way to go I do say.. Ruger or a Springer are also good but most of them are pushing close to 700 ..

They do make double stack 1911 too ... I think RIA does ... If you looking to keep above 10 round mags on hand .
    “Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.” H.L. Mencken
    "Vous ne les laisserez pas passer, mes camarades"
    "We're surrounded. That simplifies our problem of getting to these people and killing them."Chesty Puller