My first carry gun.

This is a discussion on My first carry gun. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey, so I'm new to the forum. I was just hoping to get some input from those more experienced than myself. I turned 21 towards ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By berettabone

Thread: My first carry gun.

New Member Array smokedreamlive9's Avatar

My first carry gun.

Hey, so I'm new to the forum. I was just hoping to get some input from those more experienced than myself.

I turned 21 towards the beginning of this year and bought my first handgun right around that time. I found a Taurus PT-1911 at a good price. While this is my first handgun, I've had plenty of experience shooting others so I wasn't concerned with it being a high caliber. I bought it and can say after about 1000 rounds through it that I love the gun.

I also took my cwp class around that time and have since received my carry permit. Again, I love my PT-1911, but it's a full size gun and isn't ideal for me to carry concealed (I'm kind of a skinny guy). So now I'm looking to buy a new gun. Something a bit smaller that I can hide a bit easier. I've narrowed it down a bit but I'm having trouble making a decision.

First of all, I'm looking for a 9mm. Mainly because ammo is cheap and almost always available in my area. I want a gun that will work well for concealed carry, but I want one that is also gonna be a lot of fun at the range. I'm on a budget so I'm really looking for something in the $300-500 range.

With that being said, I've been considering buying a Springfield XD subcompact, Smith & Wesson shield, Bersa thunder 9 ultra compact, Taurus PT-911, or maybe a CZ Rami if I can find one at a really good price.