Springer ultra compact

Springer ultra compact

This is a discussion on Springer ultra compact within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I found out today that a co-worker of mine has owned a Springfield Ultra Compact for nearly a decade, and has never loaded or fired ...

Thread: Springer ultra compact

Distinguished Member Array Chooie's Avatar

Springer ultra compact

I found out today that a co-worker of mine has owned a Springfield Ultra Compact for nearly a decade, and has never loaded or fired the gun. I think that he will be willing to part with it for a very reasonable amount, but I wanted to see what the consensus was on what I should look for when I tear it down to clean/lube before I test fire. After all, it's been sitting for so long. I'm sure that it will only need a cursory oiling to function, but I want to make 100% sure it's functional before I purchase it. I've got very little experience with 1911-style pistols, even given as much as I lust over them. I am trained as a machinist though, and I know a good fit and tight tolerances when I see them. Is there anything in particular I need to look out for, either good or bad? Thanks in advance!

Just the normal stuff rough tooling marks etc super shiney spots

After that long I would be very concerned about corrosion and would want a complete disassembly for careful inspection and treatment. Gummed up old lubricant might also be a concern.
    People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence in their behalf. - George Orwell

I would completely disassemble the gun and give it a good cleaning and may even have a gunsmith to check it out first. Steve48

Bring a bore sight to check the barrel, take a look at the barrel and exterior; If it looks good, buy it. Regards, Richard