New CCW options sig p229 elite or xdm 4.5

This is a discussion on New CCW options sig p229 elite or xdm 4.5 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey everyone I'm pretty new to guns. My first and only hand gun is a H&K p30s 9mm It's my edc. I'm thinking about trading ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: New CCW options sig p229 elite or xdm 4.5

Hey everyone I'm pretty new to guns. My first and only hand gun is a H&K p30s 9mm It's my edc. I'm thinking about trading it in though. There's nothing wrong with it it's amazing. There are just 2 other guns out there I might like more. First is the sig p229 elite. The H&K has an amazing grip and feels right in my hand. The Sig feels even better though because it's metal and feels more "real" in my hands if anyone understands what I'm saying. I don't have a problem with DA/SA system my service weapon is the m9. I also like that I can buy 10 rnd mags for the sig also just in case I'm ever in cali, or new york or end up having to relocate to places like those. I'll be covered by LEOSA next year but we'll still abide by state rules, meaning if I end up having to live in New York I read I can have a gun with a 10 rnd mag and keep 7 rnds in the mag. My other choice is the xdm 4.5. I love the 1911 safety and the grip on it. The Sig still feels better but the xdm feels great as well. The rnd cap in the mags are great but that might not be a necessity since I plan on getting a FN 5.7 next year and using that in any area with no rnd cap. I just need opinions from people who have shot the p229 and or xdm 4.5 and concealed them also. I live in Indiana right now so currently gun laws are not bad. I just can't go and shoot them both since I'm 20.

Distinguished Member
    229 all day long and twice on Sunday. It's in the same class of quality as the HK, and it's a Sig. No comparison to the XDm really.