Carrying Striker vs Cocked+Locked+Safety

This is a discussion on Carrying Striker vs Cocked+Locked+Safety within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm somewhat new to CCW (2 years). When I first started, I had a striker fired gun that I only felt comfortable carrying without one ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree68Likes

Thread: Carrying Striker vs Cocked+Locked+Safety

I'm somewhat new to CCW (2 years). When I first started, I had a striker fired gun that I only felt comfortable carrying without one in the chamber. I practiced drawing and racking the slide over and over.

I then got a p938. It felt safer to me to carry with a round in the chamber with safety on. I really like having the safety and have gotten used to the extra layer of protection.

Now I'm eyeing up a G43, but I'm back to the no external safety question...

Is a cocked+locked+safety gun actually more safe than carrying a glock, or is it perception?

Edit 1: I understand the responses about being safe as a user. My question is specific though:

When just comparing the gun controls, is one inherently more safe than the other, when user safety is equal?

VIP Member
    Perception. So long as you follow good safety protocols, any modern gun should be safe to carry with a round chambered. Striker, DAO, DA/SA, or C&L. It's all about protecting the trigger, especially during holstering. I carry a 938 daily as well as a P226. I've carried a Glock, Sigma, and a DA revolver. I never felt unsafe with any of these trigger styles.
    I'm not saying we should kill all the stupid people. I'm saying remove all the warning labels and let the problem sort itself out.

VIP Member
    A safety is a mechanical device and it can fail - said in my best Hunter's Ed instructor voice...