Shoot steel????

Shoot steel????

This is a discussion on Shoot steel???? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have my own private range. Me being a carpenter, I always have leftover plywood and lumber. So that's what I shoot. Lately I have ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree84Likes

Thread: Shoot steel????

Shoot steel????

I have my own private range. Me being a carpenter, I always have leftover plywood and lumber. So that's what I shoot. Lately I have been thinking of buying some steel targets. Do any of y'all shoot steel? If so please enlighten me on the pros and cons.

Yes. Shooting steel is great. Make sure its the correct thickness and ar500 or better. 1/4 inch is for pistol only 3/8 can take up to 308 at distance and 1/2 will take whatever you throw at it except a few magnum rifle rounds. Just use a can of spray paint and you got yourself a frsh target. plus the plink of the steel is nice to hear.
    rocky, hdhnict, Smarshe and 1 others like this.
    "The will to survive is not as important as the will to prevail ... the answer to criminal aggression is retaliation."-- Jeff Cooper
    "The Queen is not for sale." --Jeff Cooper THE ART OF THE RIFLE

A couple of things I have noticed re retail steel targets; They have a min distance from which to shoot them. Ie 25 yards. The ones I have bought, and seen in stores, are SMALL. Especially at 25 yards.

And, at 25 yards, your shooting guests are apt to miss more than they hit the targets, and quickly become disenchanted with them. Certainly with pistols.

That is, assuming that you have a group of regular Joe shooters, gathered just for some fun. Not expert crack shots.