Back up gun/Primary Carry Gun is it any good?

This is a discussion on Back up gun/Primary Carry Gun is it any good? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am thinking about purchasing this gun http://www.smithandwesson.com/webapp...egory_rn=15713 There is a coupon for $30.00 Rebate or 2 free magazines on the website. Also, I found ...

Thread: Back up gun/Primary Carry Gun is it any good?

Back up gun/Primary Carry Gun is it any good?

I am thinking about purchasing this gun

http://www.smithandwesson.com/webapp...egory_rn=15713

There is a coupon for $30.00 Rebate or 2 free magazines on the website. Also, I found one for around $269.99 before the rebate. Is this a good Back up gun or primary carry gun? I have no experience with this firearm and any feed back would be great. I am not very fond of double action guns but since the price is not to bad plus I wanted something that carried atleast 15 rounds its attracting me.

2. Remove Ads

I would pass the 12# triggers really suck The older ones were very problematic they say the newer ones run better but still sport a 12# trigger

The Rodney Dangerfield of guns

The S&W "Sigma" guns, of which this is an example, don't get much respect from gun owners that post on the web. These guns are right up there with Lorcins and Hi Points as objects of scorn.

I have never shot one, but have held one and must say that the grip felt comfortable in my hand. Additionally, S&W has been selling these for at least 10 years, so somebody must be buying them.

If you want a polymer S&W with large capacity magazine, you might also look at the new M&P line from S&W. These are getting very good reviews, but cost a bit more than the Sigma.

I would go with the M&P over the Sigma, and while there aren't a ton of them out there, you can find a lightly used M&P for roughly the same price as the Sigma.