From 30 yrs of wheels to semi auto

This is a discussion on From 30 yrs of wheels to semi auto within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've always had wheel guns. I bought my first semi-auto a couple weeks ago ( XD40SC ). I've shot a few semi -auto's but wasnt ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: From 30 yrs of wheels to semi auto

VIP Member

I've always had wheel guns. I bought my first semi-auto a couple weeks ago ( XD40SC ). I've shot a few semi -auto's but wasnt familier with them. When I got the SC40 I had never even broke one down before and didnt know how. I love this gun.
    Ive been carrying for about 6 months. I've carried a 642 and of course I'm very comfortable with it. Ive got almost 300 rounds through the XD and wont think of carrying it until I have atleast 500 rounds through it. PLus, I dont have a carry holster for it yet. I ordered a IWB K&D Dakota Defender for it (2 weeks ago) and figured by the time it gets here, I'd be familier with the gun and have well over 500 rounds through it. But I gotta admit, I'm a little nervous about carrying it. 30 years is a long time to be use to one thing. I will carry with one in the chamber, I don't believe there's any other way to carry. I can't really practice drawing very well because I dont have my holster. Ive tried just sticking it in my wastband just to get use to it, but the reholstering needs to be practiced too so there are no "accidents". So I guess it'll be a long time before I carry it because I'll have to practice once I get my holster. I want to get use to it and carry it for the larger capacity. I'll still carry my 642 when I need to conceal better.
    Anyone been a "wheelie head" for a long time, then make the change for ccw?

Congrats on your first semi and an excellent choice in the XD40SC. I have an XD9SC and like it. I have however found myself carrying the M&P9c more often.

Assistant Administrator
    Count me in a similar group!