Standard DAO to a 1911 Style

This is a discussion on Standard DAO to a 1911 Style within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; For a long time I have been wanting a Kimber. I have held a few, and LOVE the way they feel in my hand. I ...

Thread: Standard DAO to a 1911 Style

Standard DAO to a 1911 Style

For a long time I have been wanting a Kimber. I have held a few, and LOVE the way they feel in my hand. I have read many great reviews on Kimbers, even outside of this forum. And I know that this is not that important, but they are BEAUTIFUL to the eye as well.

Here is why I have not purchased one yet. I have been carrying Glocks (19,17,23) as duty weapons for over 11 years now (LEO). My off-duty guns have been S&W revolvers, Glocks, Kahrs, Kel-tecs, Sigs and Berettas. All of these have been SA/DA or DAO. But I have never used a manual safety before. I am afraid that if the SHTF and I draw a Kimber that I may not disengage the safety and end up in the ground. I would not want to carry it any other way than cocked and locked.

I pose a question to those who have went from DAO to a 1911 style pistol. Was it hard to get used to using a manual safety? Remember, even if I get a Kimber to carry off-duty, and get used to using the safety, I still carry a Glock 23 while working. Muscle memory always takes over. If my job would go to Kimber for duty use that would be great, but they will not go for that kind of money.

Do any LEOs carry DAO while working and 1911 off-duty?

HELP.......this is the only reason I have not purchased a Kimber. And I want one BAD.
    Police Defensive Tactics, Firearms, Carbine Rifle and Taser Instructor
    Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member
    It is better to have your gun and not need it, than to need it and not have it!
    You cannot choose the conditions for a gunfight, so train in all conditions!

2. Remove Ads

Lead Moderator