PF9 vs P3AT

PF9 vs P3AT

This is a discussion on PF9 vs P3AT within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have narrowed my choices to either the PF9 or the P3AT for primary pocket carry. I have read/ researched, and these two guns fall ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: PF9 vs P3AT

PF9 vs P3AT

I have narrowed my choices to either the PF9 or the P3AT for primary pocket carry. I have read/ researched, and these two guns fall in my size and price range. I currently carry a Taurus 850 CIA TI and it feels like an orange in my pocket. I am relatively new to CCW and wonder what others think of one Keltec vs the other. I prefer the 9mm, but the size/ weight issue for pocket carry is pushing me toward the P3at. Also many of the good reviews for the latest gen P3at also leads me in that direction. Unfortunately, I have held the P3at once, the PF9 never, consequences of living in a rural community. What are your impressions?
    Yes, I would definitely prefer the R9, or the PM9, but budget dictates the purchase.

Senior Member Array cockedlocked01's Avatar
    It's easy to say go with the 9mm. If you already have a snub .38, & believe it's on par with a 9mm powerwise, then get the P-3AT. That way you can carry the snub when you want more power or maybe IWB/OWB (Like during colder weather). During the warmer months &/or when you're just making a trip down to the local stop & rob, you can carry the P-3AT.

If you're looking for an all arounder, I'd recommend going with the 9mm, though.

Really, it's what's you're most comfortable with.
    "Use human means as though divine ones didn't exist, and divine means as though there were no human ones." Baltasar Gracian
    Integrated Close Combat
    NRA Member
    Glock 19 & 26, Kahr CM9 & P45, Para P12, Kel-Tec P-32, S&W 442, & Dan Wesson 14-2.