Remove Kimber sights?

This is a discussion on Remove Kimber sights? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a 3" Kimber Ultra Carry with the factory installed sights. Anyone know how to get these darned things off? Since I don't use ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Remove Kimber sights?

Remove Kimber sights?

I have a 3" Kimber Ultra Carry with the factory installed sights.

Anyone know how to get these darned things off?

Since I don't use my sights anyway, it would make the draw much smoother, less chance of snags, etc...

Thanks!
    "Nice grips, weird choice of etching" Rocky

2. Remove Ads

I am far from an expert but if it were me I would go to a gunsmith, pay him a few bucks and ask them to remove them. They have the special tools and the know how. Just my opinion.

Easiest way is to take it to a good gunsmith and let them take them off. That'll save you a big hassle. However, if you want to DIY, then you need a good vise, a hammer, and a brass or aluminum punch. From here, you beat them out. Quite simple. Also when beating on the front sight, make sure you sit the punch on the base, and not on the sight blade itself as this can lead to baldness from pulling out your own hair after you beat off the sight blade. There is another way that involves using a sight pusher, but a good one can cost quite a bit. Also, a good pair of calipers will help as one ide of the dovetail is usually slightly wider than the other. Knowing which is which can also make things easier.

Hope this helps!
    Gun control is hitting what you aim at...

I had no idea that there would be so much "hammering" involved. I don't want to take the chance of damaging my pistol just to get the sights off.

Guess i'll give my local pistol smith a call and see how much it costs.

Thanks!