First Time Poster with two questions - making a purchase today

This is a discussion on First Time Poster with two questions - making a purchase today within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have narrowed my choice of a firearm to two choices: Sig P229 or HK USP Compact and in the end I guess it will ...

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: First Time Poster with two questions - making a purchase today

I have narrowed my choice of a firearm to two choices:
    Sig P229 or HK USP Compact and in the end I guess it will come down to what just feels the best as it seems that both have an equally loyal following and both seem to have a lot of strengths.

As far as being a CCW what are the strengths and weaknesses vs the two?

Question 1 -
    9mm vs 40S&W... I know this would seem a no-brainer but my wife will be picking up the same weapon at home when I am away (I am an airline pilot and am away for days on end).

I worry that a .40 is just too much recoil for her, but by the same token I want to be able to go into memory mode when I fire this weapon if/when the need comes up.

Am I worrying too much about this and should I be willing to do a .40 for me and a 9mm for the house(wife) or just do 9mm all the way around?

Question 2-
    I live in Florida so there are many occasions when shorts and a t-shirt are the order of the day. Granted I wear shorts with a belt, but are small-of-the-back holsters good enough for concealment. or would an inside the pants model be better? How are the inside the pants ones for comfort?

You and your wife sound somewhat new to shooting, but I could be wrong. If I'm not wrong, then I'd recommend the 9mm instead because your practice ammo will be so much cheaper. Shoot, shoot, shoot, and then shoot some more! A 9mm modern hollow point is just as effective as a 40, in my opinion. Shot placement is more critical, which comes with lots of practice..