Carrying .45 acp: Glock or XD?

This is a discussion on Carrying .45 acp: Glock or XD? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First of all, I would just like to say hello to everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum but I've been reading ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Carrying .45 acp: Glock or XD?

First of all, I would just like to say hello to everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum but I've been reading it quite a bit lately and have found TONS of useful information, not to mention a few interesting stories ;)

My question, though, is this: Right now I own an almost new Glock 19 and I love it. It fits my hand like a glove and I haven't held anything that feels so perfect. However, I'm getting the itch for something new and more powerful. After doing some research and going to the local gun shop and also to the shooting range, I've picked .45 acp as my caliber of choice. As for the weapon to fire it, I've narrowed that down also. Right now I'm trying to decide between the XD45 Compact and one of the Glocks (NOT G.A.P). I've held both the XD45 and the G21 and G30. Here's what I came up with:

- The Glocks feel better in my hand, but the G30 is a little too small for me to comfortably shoot and the G21 is a little too large for me to easily conceal and carry.

- The XD is the right size (seemed to be pretty similar to my G19) but doesn't feel as comfortable, though it doesn't feel uncomfortable by any means.

- In the accuracy department, I did equally well with both the XD and the Glocks. However, I was forced to shoot the XD9 because no XD45 was available. My accuracy with the XD9 was no better or worse than my accuracy with my G19.