Picking a snubby for concealed carry

Picking a snubby for concealed carry

This is a discussion on Picking a snubby for concealed carry within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, this may be a long one. I'm new to this forum, and hope that those of you who will read this will oblige me ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Picking a snubby for concealed carry

Lightbulb Picking a snubby for concealed carry

Ok, this may be a long one.

I'm new to this forum, and hope that those of you who will read this will oblige me with some much needed advice. I value everyone's opinion, and thank everyone who posts for their wisdom.

I'm relatively new to the handgun world. Although I've shot (and currently own) long arms (20 GA, .22 LR), I've just turned 21 and am looking to get my concealed permit.

I very much want a steel revolver for my main concealed carry. Weight for steel revolvers shouldn't be a problem, cause I love my dad's k-frame Model 10 2", and can carry that all day long. I know that autos are often lighter, carry more firepower, and can be easier to shoot than most compact revolvers. However, for the reliability, aesthetics and ammo interchangiblilty, I want a revolver. I'd like to keep the price down to $450 or less. Caveat: I will only fire .38+p for defensive use, except when I go hiking, when I want to have a few .357 rounds loaded up. So shooting a snub-nose shouldn't be too terribly painful.

I've narrowed it down to 3 brands of revolvers. Which one would you choose, and why?

1) Smith and Wesson 60 or 640 - lighter (than Sp101), smoother trigger, prolly can't handle lots of .357 (no biggie), more $$$. Great customer service

2) Ruger Sp101 w/ exposed hammer - built like a tank, heavier (at 25oz), trigger a bit rough before you dry fire it a jillion times. Will most likely outlast me and several generations. Aesthetically pleasing.