First carry gun, SP101?

This is a discussion on First carry gun, SP101? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Before I go any farther, let me just say, I've been reading this forum for a little while and I'm impressed; you guys keep it ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: First carry gun, SP101?

Question First carry gun, SP101?

Before I go any farther, let me just say, I've been reading this forum for a little while and I'm impressed; you guys keep it quite clean and you seem to have a nice online community here. I moderate on two other forums so I have respect for well-moderated forums, and I'll do my part to keep it clean.

I'm a network administrator in my twenties. I grew up around guns (thanks, Dad) and have shot some competitive skeet and silhouette before. I've never really carried a weapon on my person regularly (though occasionally in my car). Due to some changes in my living arrangements and work location, I'll be filing for my CCW soon.

Although I own several guns, none of them are well-suited for concealed carry; the smallest is a Beretta 21A (.22 mouse gun), and the next smallest is a 6" barrel revolver. I'm a reasonably small guy at 6'0 / 160lbs, so hiding a 6" revolver on my person without a winter coat is a virtual impossibility. Thus, I'm looking for a carry gun. Although I am on a bit of a budget, I understand that a good piece will last me a lifetime and am willing to shell out some bucks for a real keeper.

I'm comfortable with both semiauto's and revolvers, but I lean towards revolvers. I figure that especially in a high-stress adrenaline-override panic mode, I should go with what I know best.

I went to the local range and tried out a few weapons, including a Springfield XD in .45, a Glock 9mm, a Walther 9mm, two variants of 1911, and a few revolvers. Of the semi's, I think I liked the XD the best.