caliber vs. number of rounds

This is a discussion on caliber vs. number of rounds within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Everyone agrees that bigger bullets at higher velocities, other things equal, are better. Everyone also agrees that that more rounds are better, other things equal. ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: caliber vs. number of rounds

Member Array chiefs-special-guy's Avatar

caliber vs. number of rounds

Everyone agrees that bigger bullets at higher velocities, other things equal, are better. Everyone also agrees that that more rounds are better, other things equal. I have a confession- I am an economist. (Sorry!) In economics, we have a concept- the "marginal rate of substitution" (mrs) which is defined as the rate at which one variable, say caliber/momentum, can be traded for another, say number of rounds, in order to keep some specified function of both at a constant value.

For example, if momentum=mass*velocity, then any combination of mass and velocity that yields the same momentum defines a two dimensional curve with mass on one axis and velocity on the other. In this case, it is an hyperbola. Anyway, the slope of this curve is the mrs between mass and velocity.
    So, suppose I have a seven shot 22 magnum revolver (sw 351PD) and a 5 shot 38 special (model 36). Which is better for self defense?

If you say the 38, then how many rounds would the 22 mag have to hold to be as good as the 38 special snub? Is there an answer? And if so, why? I suspect there is for most purposes. For example, the 45 acp is a good round, but would you prefer a 1-shot 45 acp or a 5 shot 38 special? I'll take the 38. So would you I think. How about 2 45 rounds? Three? You get the point.

Just a hypothetical question. Professors think up this junk.
    God Bless
    Six for sure...Uh, I mean Five. Five for sure..

2. Remove Ads