First Time Buyer

First Time Buyer

This is a discussion on First Time Buyer within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This is my first time about to purchase a handgun because I've just turned 21 a few months back and have gotten my permit. Now ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Time Buyer

First Time Buyer

This is my first time about to purchase a handgun because I've just turned 21 a few months back and have gotten my permit. Now because I'm young that means I know everything and you oldies can't tell me anything (just joking). What I'm considering is the Glock 26 with night sights or even the Glock 27. What are some of the advantages that might sway me to one or the other or even neither? What I want is something for everyday carry, reliability, durability, and longevity. Also what is the size difference in the subcompact and compact? Is it a subtle difference or is there a difference in carrying comfort. Also, could someone mention any great add-ons to a subcompact pistol and brands? Thanxs to all!!!
    Last edited by Captain Crunch; January 21st, 2008 at 02:47 PM. Reason: Edited text. It is not necessary to capitalize EVERY word!
    Guns Don't Kill People.........Trauma To Vital Organs & Loss Of Blood Kill People

The 26 and 27 are the same gun just different calibers. The subcompact 26/27 with unmodified mags leaves your pinky finger handing below the mag, but it doesn't bother me. You can add an extension but that brings your grip length to that of the 19/23 models and the grip is the most difficult part to conceal anyway. Very good guns - all four of them.

The Compacts are about 1/2 inch longer in barrel and 1/2 inch taller in grip than the subs. I also own the 19 and it too is concealable, although I prefer the 27 for deep concealment.