New to handguns

New to handguns

This is a discussion on New to handguns within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; In my introduction I stated that I am looking for a handgun to use for CC. While I have been shotgunning for some time, I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to handguns

New to handguns

In my introduction I stated that I am looking for a handgun to use for CC. While I have been shotgunning for some time, I am new to handguns and everything about them, so I am looking for guidance and advice. I have picked the brain of a few dealers in the area, and their advice so far has been: Go for a small caliber, 9mm, because the recoil is light and the ammo is cheap, (sounds good, light recoil as well as cheap ammo will help extend my sessions at the range). Outside of that, not much more. So now I'm ventureing out to seek advice from the masses. Reccomendations on the many makes out there. My top dollar is $500, but I would prefer to stay well under that, $350-400 would be ideal. Who are some of the reliable manufacturers (and who are the unreliable one's) and do any of them provide outstanding warranties and customer service? What are some specific things to look for when buying? I've been told to find a gun that "fits", but what should that mean to me. How should the gun properly "fit", and what "feel" should I look for? Finally, any extras or bonus type stuff to keep an eye out for when purchasing, or any fancy stuff that while it looks good, may not (or may) have practical applications for CC. Thanks in advance for any help, I know there are a lot of questions, hopefully in the future I can replace some of them with answers.

Thanks,
    bm

Shop for a handgun just like you shop for shoes. Would you buy shoes just because they were recommended to you? Get your hands on as many handguns as you can. Several of them will feel "pretty good". A few of them will feel "just right". Pursue those.