Can't afford the latest thing

This is a discussion on Can't afford the latest thing within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; And my Speed Six doesn't look like it's going to work out very well. I'm going to try a Smartcarry, but if that doesn't work ...

Thread: Can't afford the latest thing

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Can't afford the latest thing

And my Speed Six doesn't look like it's going to work out very well. I'm going to try a Smartcarry, but if that doesn't work out I can't afford 2-3 guns to switch around the way some folks here do, though I'm going to buy a NAA .22 mag for a bug.

I'm thinking that a used last-generation auto might be the thing for my main CCW... a S&W Chief Special for example. Anybody have any advice on this fiream or similar examples?

Keep in mind I'll be buying used, so long-term reliability is also an issue.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

2. Remove Ads

Whats wrong with your speed 6 to heavy? They for sure are heavy.

Only thing i can really say is if you can find someone who has a good amount of guns to let you try out go that route yeah its expensive to have to buy to try to find soemthing your comfortable with i dont even wanna start listing what i have for carry or have bought for carry.

Im sure someone will be along who can tell you about smith autos only one's i have experaince with is a 22 and a 1911sc. So not a wide usuage of there autos.

I had good luck with one of the 690x series that I owned for a bit before deciding the $$$ was better spent on a gun I enjoyed more.

It worked fine, don't get me wrong - it just wasn't for me at that point in my life.

The Smith autos of recent vintage seem to all work fine, even if they aren't the prettiest thing alive.
    Driver carries less than $45 worth of remorse.