Defensive Carry banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

New (to me) Glock 21

4K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  JD 
#1 ·
Well, after deliberating for quite a while, I finally sold my XD45 and bought a lightly used 3rd gen Glock 21 (.45 ACP) this afternoon. It seems to be in really nice shape, and doesn't look to have been fired much. I'll pick it up sometime early this week. It will compliment my G17 very nicely.
The XD was nice, but I basically soured on the idea of carrying it due to some jamming issues that I experienced shortly after I bought it. Although it seemed to run just fine for the last 300 rounds or so, I never really regained confidence in the gun after that, and I never really felt comfortable when I carried it. Also, once I started practicing a lot with the G17, I realized the grip angle and trigger felt a lot more natural to me than the XD's did.

#2 ·
Congrats...on your new purchase...
It's a sidearm that will ALWAYS go boom (Glocks, ya' gotta' love 'em...)

Stay armed...stay safe!

#3 ·
Congrats! I hear a lot about people switching to the XD from the Glock. But you don't hear a whole lot about people switching back to the Glock's from the XD's. I'm glad you found what works for you and stuck with it! :hand10:

#21 ·
Depends on where you look. I've heard alot of the exact opposite part of why an XD.45 compact is my EDC with thousands of rounds through it without a problem. The trigger got even better and a taste lighter after about 500 rounds, First real compliant I've heard about the XD. Have to wonder if it is a exception or a shooter problem. Limp wristing maybe? That sure is a tacky term. Anyway it's the exception not the rule as far as I know.

#7 ·
Well, the dealer that I purchased my new G21 from called me today, and told me it was ready to be picked up (I have had delays on the last two guns I've purchased, for some reason). Of course, I went and got it right away this afternoon ;-)