Defensive Carry banner

P239??? Pros/cons

7K views 30 replies 23 participants last post by  tankdriver 
#1 ·
I know there is a very devout following of SIG owners on here and righfully so. I have been lustfully wanting to buy a p220 DAK for sometime, Carry or fullsize I dont know yet. I want a .45 and am a GLOCK man by trade. Their .45s don't feel right to me. Anyhoo, I will soon have the money for the p220. :danceban: I however am going to have some other money and have unexpectedly found myself in quite the admiration of the p239. :image035: I did not expect it to fit my hands so well, as I 6'3" and 270. I like the idea of a .45 and think i could hide. it. However I know from experience with my G23, that I could make a p239 disappear, with a good holster.
Who here carries a 239 on a regular basis? Is 9mm the preferred caliber? I was considering a .357 sig for the novelty of it and the fact that I will not be shootin it as much as my other guns, and I have a .40 with my 23. Realistically, though I would prob go with the .40 or the 9mm. Let me know what u all think.

#2 ·
I think the 239 is one of the best CCW handguns out there. It is small and thin, extremely reliable, and much more accurate than it has any right to be. (For instance, I shot the DEA qualification course with one - not mine - the other day. It was the first time I had ever held this particular pistol, and the course calls for shots from as far as 50 yards. I passed with a 96%...)

Of course, there are the trigger options (DA/SA, DAK, Sig short trigger, short reset trigger, etc), so most shooters can find something that they really like in that regard. There are the aesthetics - it's a pretty pistol and can really be "gussied up" with grips and finishes or left as a piece of "working art" in all black. Recoil is very managable, especially in 9mm.