Dems Win/SHTF/I want another gun, whattaya think?

This is a discussion on Dems Win/SHTF/I want another gun, whattaya think? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Much has been said on this topic. I am really just trying to get a consolidated answer that can be shared with others. So I ...

Thread: Dems Win/SHTF/I want another gun, whattaya think?

Dems Win/SHTF/I want another gun, whattaya think?

Much has been said on this topic. I am really just trying to get a consolidated answer that can be shared with others.

So I have been reading this forum for a couple months now and I really like the point of view that is shared by so many of you. So now I will ask your collective opinion on a few topics that I see as deeply interrelated.

First some personal background, I have been carrying for 10 years now. I have gone through a few guns in that time and I have settled on .38 wheelguns anytime my wife is around and .45s if shes not.

My debate right now is what do I get if it looks like an imminent ban is on the horizon. I want to get ahead of it so I can take advantage of better prices now than will be there in a few months.

I currently have a 5" compact frame XD.45. I love it! I also have a 1911 that ends up getting carried more than the XD. My never leave home without it gun is a Smith 642.

That said. I am thinking about the next gun. In a worst case scenario I want a gun that has readily available parts, magazines, and ammo. There is no more prevalent gun combination that fits those requirements than a Glock 9mm (17, 19, 26). I have traditionally had great disdain for 9mm. But in a worst case time it may be the most available.

There is a lot going for the Glock 9mm. 33 parts total, ultra simple operation, stupid reliability, simple maintenance, cheap parts, and everyone knows the gun.

I am seriously contemplating a Glock 19 with a handful of 19 mags and a handful of 17 mags with 2 rd extensions.