Best way to teach... and a few success stories

This is a discussion on Best way to teach... and a few success stories within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; or at least get someone interested in going to the range and punching holes in paper. I'm a full time college student, I live about ...

Senior Member Array firefighter4884's Avatar

or at least get someone interested in going to the range and punching holes in paper.

I'm a full time college student, I live about 2 blocks off campus, and there is an indoor range less then a mile from the campus, so locations are great (I can store pistols at my house, and the range is NICE and close)...

My question is this, I have a Ruger 22/45 and a USPc in .40S&W. Most of the people I've taken to the range perfer shooting the .22 because they're new shooters, and that's cool, I can understand that.

Before I take everyone to the range, they get the 4 rules, and also a control lay out of each pistol (this button does this, and this one does that, etc) so they've all seen the guns prior to leaving for the range.

I'm still learning myself, so I'm not real comfortable teaching grip techniques and stuff, but I'm more interested that they be willing to get out there and have a good time with whats going on.

So far my success rate is pretty high. The first guy who went shooting with me wanted to buy a Glock 27, but he'd also handled no other pistols in his life. We went out, and he rented an XD 40 subcompact, and a S&W 1911. I also let him shoot the Ruger that day. He's still not sure what he wants as far as a centerfire pistol, but he knows he wants a 22 to go with it.