First Carry Gun- Help Me Choose a Revolver

This is a discussion on First Carry Gun- Help Me Choose a Revolver within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been reading David Kenik's book "Armed Response" and have found it helpful and full of useful information. He is one of a few ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Carry Gun- Help Me Choose a Revolver

Senior Member Array McPatrickClan's Avatar

First Carry Gun- Help Me Choose a Revolver

I have been reading David Kenik's book "Armed Response" and have found it helpful and full of useful information. He is one of a few respected authors that have suggested a novice carry a revolver for his first sidearm. I am a firearm/concealed carry novice and own a couple of guns, one of which is a Springfield XD40 (4" barrel). I enjoy shooting it.

That being said, I think a revolver w/pocket carry may be a good investment for a couple reasons:

a) for a few hundred bucks, I can have a safe, easy to use gun that is good for a CHL rookie

b) many revolvers are small enough to fit in a pocket holster, which is ideal for the shorts + short-sleeve shirt attire of most the Texas year

So I have two questions.

1) Is my line of reasoning solid & would buying a revolver for my first carry gun be a wise decision, in your opinion?

2) If you answered yes to #1, please make a suggestion for my first revolver, based on the following criteria:

*easy/fun to shoot during practice, not just a cannon that will roar when in a pinch
    *safe to carry (the shrouded or concealed hammers are intriguing- what is the drawback?)
    *steel over alloy for less recoil
    *full-hand (3-finger) grip
    *barrel length is unimportant as long as gun is easy to conceal & shoot
    *caliber is unimportant as long as gun is easy to conceal & shoot
    *would like to carry OWB (4 o'clock) and in pocket holster
    *willing to spend about $500, though certainly not unwilling to save a few bucks