Taurus 745?

Taurus 745?

This is a discussion on Taurus 745? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've heard that Taurus was having problems with their 745 model pistols, polymer cracking after a few hundred rounds, things like that. Anybody know if ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taurus 745?

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Taurus 745?

I've heard that Taurus was having problems with their 745 model pistols, polymer cracking after a few hundred rounds, things like that.

Anybody know if this is true, and if so has it beed resolved?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

This is what I know first hand about Taurus pistols:

Some of them conceal very well, and they have long trigger pulls.

This is what I've heard second hand:

Early Taurus products were junkers and the frames would crack often. Then they bought Rossi and their workmanship has improved ever since. At some point, I believe the third generation of each model, they fixed this problem. The new Taurus pistols are okay and Jim Dandy.

I've also got it on good word that you should investigate each particular model as Taurus is very uneven in its QC, like Kel Tec. The Taurus model 85? Good gun. The PT111? First or second generation, it's a piece of junk, third or later and it's a good no nonsense gun.

Basically if it's new or a proven model, it's probably okay. But honestly so far I've never found a reason to get a Taurus. I'm not anti Taurus at all I've just never had one. The only time I'd get one is if they made something I wanted at a lower price, and they cost just as much as everything else usually. I admit they make a couple things I'd like to have like the 145, their new 1911 possibly and some of their unique revolver models like the 445.