Hypothetical Gun

Hypothetical Gun

This is a discussion on Hypothetical Gun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello, I'm new to defensivecarry.com and really happy to have found it. There is so much great info here! I plan to start carrying full ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hypothetical Gun

Hypothetical Gun

Hello,

I'm new to defensivecarry.com and really happy to have found it. There is so much great info here! I plan to start carrying full time, well not in the shower, and I also plan to purchase a new gun. I have a hypothetical question that will help me narrow down my choices. Here goes...

Hypothetical: You can only own one handgun. You plan to carry it, concealed, full time (again sans shower.) It must have the lightest recoil possible that you are "comfortable" with. Comfortable, in this case, means that this handgun would give you piece of mind as a reliable self-defense weapon. What is your handgun given these parameters?

If this type of hypothetical question is frowned upon here please just ignore me. I haven't seen anything here to suggest that, but so far I've mostly just been drooling over all the gun & rig pics this site has.

Administrator
    Perception of recoil is a very subjective thing and varies greatly per individual.

Also...are you thinking more along the lines of a revolver or a semi-automatic?
    Liberty Over Tyranny Μολὼν λαβέ

VIP Member
    I would stick with the Sig P228 in 9mm. Common enough that parts and accessories are readily available. Recoil is very mild. Capacity is respectable. Weight is tolerable. Size is reasonable. Reliability and accuracy are exceptional. Safety is impeccable. Craftsmanship is untouchable.

Of course, I am I and you are you, so this will have to be YOUR choice...but you asked for mine, and there it is.