Carry gun for wife?

This is a discussion on Carry gun for wife? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, the wife ants to try shooting... eventually I'm going to try to get her to CCW. I think her main resistance is being a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carry gun for wife?

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Carry gun for wife?

Ok, the wife ants to try shooting... eventually I'm going to try to get her to CCW. I think her main resistance is being a liberal Kalifornia girl, and the idea just never entered her head. Now that I carry she's getting more used to the idea.

She's held a PT111 and liked the feel, but we never had a chance to shoot it.

We're on a bit of a budget, so I'm trying to decide between buying a PT111 or a P-11. Advice? Other suggestions in the same price/ size category?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

2. Remove Ads

Take her around to shops. Note which ones actually treat her like a human being. File for future reference.

Let her pick what she wants, even if it's not something you'd like. Excerise veto power carefully (like if she wants a Jennings).

And when you go in, don't look at the price tags. You're looking for something that she may really want to have, and even if you're on a budget, you can figure that out after the fact or weigh options.
    Driver carries less than $45 worth of remorse.

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar
    Well, this is officially going to be "my gun" that she might "shoot sometimes" when we go to the range.

I'm really buying it for her, so that I can try to nudge her toward enjoying shooting... something she'll really enjoy and be comfortable for her... but at this point I can't let on that it's really for her. If I suggest we go to a store and buy a gun for her I won't get anywhere, right now she doesn't want to own a gun herself.

See where I'm coming from?