Best carry weapon for someone new to guns?

This is a discussion on Best carry weapon for someone new to guns? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi folks, I am new to guns and looking into getting my carry permit in Upstate NY(Buffalo). I know very little about how they operate ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best carry weapon for someone new to guns?

Hi folks,

I am new to guns and looking into getting my carry permit in Upstate NY(Buffalo). I know very little about how they operate and I've never shot a pistol before. I will be taking the class before I get the permit obviously, but I'm wondering which carry handgun you would recommend for someone very new to guns. I want something that has enough oomph to take down an attacker but is not so heavy and hard to operate that it will be a disadvantage to carry it. I would also like to be able to conceal it in my pants(around the crotch area I guess, and not inside a pocket). I wear a lot of t-shirt/shorts outfits in summer so I want something that can be concealed even under an outfit as revealing as this. I was looking at something like a Glock 26 and I wonder if this gun would be feasible or if I should consider others.

Thanks very much in advance for any advice.

B52
    I would recommend a S&W J frame or a Ruger SP101...

Without knowing anything about you or your proposed future training...I would suggest a snubby revolver of some type in the .38 caliber category...Smith & Wesson has a number of potential candidates in which you might be interested.

Get thee to a gunshop...

Stay armed...get training...stay safe!
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]