First Carry Gun

This is a discussion on First Carry Gun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to concealed carry...as new as still waiting on my permit. I plan on carrying a full size Para 1911 in a Galco NSA ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Carry Gun

First Carry Gun

I'm new to concealed carry...as new as still waiting on my permit. I plan on carrying a full size Para 1911 in a Galco NSA II IWB holster. The ammo I will be carrying is Federal Premium Hydra Shock. Let me know what you think.
    Attached Images

2. Remove Ads

Very Nice!!! I went big when I bought my first handgun (XD45 4" Service). I found it a chore to carry every day and therefore more often than not I'd leave the house unarmed either because I wasn't wearing enough clothes to cover it or I didn't want to drag it around all day. I do still carry the XD occasionally but I picked up a G27 which I carry every day without question. I carry IWB and I forget it's there.

I've gotta give you credit for carrying a full size; especially a 1911. While it's a great gun I know in my case that I'd leave it on my night stand more often than not simply because it's so large.

Good Luck...stay armed and stay safe.

Longo244 has given good advice. Full sized 1911s have the tendency to feel as heavy as boat anchors by the end of the day. If you have any doubt as to whether or not you can endure the weight (OWB or IWB) of a standard sized on an all-day basis, you might want to look at something else.
    The Edge ... there's no honest way to describe it. The only ones who know where it is have gone over.

Prediction

Quote Originally Posted by shadowman85 View Post
    I'm new to concealed carry...as new as still waiting on my permit. I plan on carrying a full size Para 1911 in a Galco NSA II IWB holster. The ammo I will be carrying is Federal Premium Hydra Shock. Let me know what you think.