Decisions

This is a discussion on Decisions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to hand guns. I inherited a Colt Python from my Dad many years back. It just showed up in the mail one day. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decisions

Decisions

I'm new to hand guns.

I inherited a Colt Python from my Dad many years back. It just showed up in the mail one day. It still had and has the yellow hexagonal tag attached to the trigger guard by a short length of string. 8" barrel.

I got a box of .357 magnum cartridges and a box of .38 cartridges with it. One of the .38 was missing, so I'm pretty sure he fired it once. Also, pretty sure that was all he fired it. I haven't fired it since I got it. Pretty sure that single .38 round is the only round fired from it.

He had written on the letter from Colt that came with the revolver the date he bought it: 6/19/1981. I wrote on it that I received it 10/12/1983.

A long time back He had acquired a Lugar which I found fascinating. Never fired it though. Shortly before I received the Colt in the mail, I had asked him if he still had the Lugar and if he did, I would like to buy it from him. No, he had sold it quite a few years before. I think he sent me the Colt as a consolation prize.

I know my way around rifles, but not handguns.

Anyway. The Colt is far too big for anything except keeping as home self defense.

So, I have been looking to acquire something smaller and more useful for self and family defense.

So far I seem to have narrowed it down to either a Kel-Tec PF-9 or a Kahr PM-9.

I had read that the Kel-Tec was only good for about 6,000 rounds which is probably about 5,500 rounds more than I would put through it. This got me to thinking that maybe the Kahr was worth paying 3 times as much for.