Looking into my 1st 1911 style pistol

This is a discussion on Looking into my 1st 1911 style pistol within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been thinking long and hard about my next weapon, so far I'm hearing nothing but good things about the 1911 style pistols. Two of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking into my 1st 1911 style pistol

I've been thinking long and hard about my next weapon, so far I'm hearing nothing but good things about the 1911 style pistols. Two of the main shooters I've been reading up on are the Kimber Stainless Ultra Carry II™ / .45 ACP
    Kimber - Continuing The Legacy

and then there's the ParaUSA Hawg-9
    Para USA, High-Quality Handguns: Products

Both of these look to be very nice carry pieces, but I'm far from a pro on this style tho. Any advice and input will be greatly appreciated. So far the quality on both seem to be about the even, altho I know LimaTunes carries a Kimber and I definately respect her input. If you have experience with either or both let me know whsat your 2 cents are on these. And I'm looking at the Beretta PX storm sub-compact as well looks like another higher up on the list pistol for me also. Beretta USA Product Catalog - Pistols

Thanks for any opinions as always.
    "Fear is nothing more than an emotional response to the perception of danger coupled with the belief that I can't handle it."
    "If you change that belief to 'I can handle it', you'll no longer experience FEAR. You'll simply see what you are facing is a challenge... an opportunity to test yourself.

Do not laugh but also check out the Taurus pt 1911. I have the stainless and so far have put over 1000 rounds through it with out a hiccup. I also us it as one of my daily carry weapons.
    John Steinbeck: Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he's too old to fight, he'll just kill you.

My Kimber Ultra CDP II is my EDC...never a problem...several years now!