Buying My First Handgun

Buying My First Handgun

This is a discussion on Buying My First Handgun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, I've never really owned a gun before, but would like to get a concealed carry permit and a nice compact concealable handgun. I do ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Buying My First Handgun

Hi,

I've never really owned a gun before, but would like to get a concealed carry permit and a nice compact concealable handgun. I do have some basic safety/shooting training with shotguns from a trap shooting course I took in college, however I have never fired a handgun. The gun store in my area offers 4 different hand gun courses and I plan to take all 4. I've been researching this idea for about 6 months and so I have a pretty good idea after reading threads on here about what's really important when it comes to picking out a gun. I have managed to narrow down my list to a few guns. One issue though is that my local gun stores doesn't seem to carry some of these guns normally, but are willing to special order them. Therefore, I really have no way of being able to check them out/fire them before purchasing. My motive behind purchasing a hand gun is basically defensive carry. I want to be able to protect myself and whoever is around me.

Here is the list:
    -HK P2000SK .40
    -HK P2000SK 9mm
    -Walther PPS .40
    -Walther PPS 9mm