Defensive Carry banner

Failure to feed - help?

4K views 23 replies 16 participants last post by  sdkidaho 
#1 ·
I bought a Springfield Micro Compact and I took it out for the first time to shoot it this last weekend. I bought some Winchester target loads, round nose FMJ, and I had a few failure to feed problems. Not all of the rounds locked up, but some did. It was easy enough to clear - just lock the slide back, release the clip and clear the round.

I chaulked it up to the ammo - maybe the gun just didn't like it. So I get home tonight and figure I'll try a couple different types of ammo, some Federal and Winchester hollow points. Every round locks up as you try to feed it. Every one.

I have some pictures and maybe you guys can help me with it. I'm a novice when it comes to this pistol - I've never owned a 1911 and so I'm not sure what I need to do or check or what.

Here you can see that the slide tries to move forward but can't as the bullet isn't sliding up the ramp inside.

You can see the bullet here, it's still in the clip and starting to come out of the clip. I did try another clip just to make sure it wasn't the clip itself, though I guess I could have two faulty clips?

The next three shots you can see where the bullet is hanging up, at least I hope they are clear enough for you to tell.

This last shot you can see the ramp (I'm not sure if I'm using the right name for that part, I assume it's a feed ramp or something like that) and what appear to be ding marks on it from the bullets that are hanging up.

Do I just need to oil that ramp a little? Is there something else I need to adjust? Is the gun jacked up and I need to have it repaired?

I believe the gun is clean - it looks great, the slide moves easily and it did fire, with a few failures to feed of course with the round nose FMJ ammo. I didn't actually shoot any of the hollow points but rather just tested chambering them to see if it was the previous ammo causing the issue.