I'm new...help?

I'm new...help?

This is a discussion on I'm new...help? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; How are all you doing? I'm looking to purchase a pistol for protection and one I could carry when I felt needed. I have to ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm new...help?

I'm new...help?

How are all you doing? I'm looking to purchase a pistol for protection and one I could carry when I felt needed. I have to admit I am no gun expert and have seek-ed advice from friends.

I have been told the Beretta PX4 SC, Glock 27, Springfield XD Compact, or XD SC would work the best for me.

Then I have some people tell me to get a .40 Cal, and some a 9mm. I have been told for protection the 9mm isn't enough, but the ammo is cheaper. That .45 Cal ammo is even cheaper then .40 Cal...

Also, do I need to carry a sub-compact or will a compact do? That would help a lot.

Can you please help me narrow my decision down, maybe what you carry? Looking to spend 500-600 bucks. Thanks.
    Last edited by bphawk48; July 24th, 2008 at 12:21 AM. Reason: updated

Generally either a Glock, Smith and Wesson M&P, or Springfield XD, in 9mm, .40, or .45 is a good choice to start carrying. The best way to know which one is best for you is too shoot them and see what you are comfortable with. 9mm is acceptable for carry, especially with decent hollowpoints.

How much are you looking to spend on your endeavors? Make sure you add some training in there too.

And welcome aboard
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor