Opinions on first carry weapon(G23/M&P)

This is a discussion on Opinions on first carry weapon(G23/M&P) within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey everyone, I am new to the concealed carry world and I want to purchase my first handgun. I have done some research and finally ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on first carry weapon(G23/M&P)

Smile Opinions on first carry weapon(G23/M&P)

Hey everyone,

I am new to the concealed carry world and I want to purchase my first handgun. I have done some research and finally got enough money to buy my first carry handgun and after trying out a few weapons, and going to two different stores n such, I think I have narrowed it down a little anyways.

I think I am leaning toward the .40. 9mm is too small (I think anyways) and my friend's Para .45 has a little more recoil then I think I can be accurate with. I am going to try the .45 again however I am pretty sure I am going to end up with a .40.

With that in mind, I am not sure which gun I actually like/want more and I was wondering what you guys/gals had to say about my choices so far.

1. S+W M&P .40 (full size)
    2. Glock G23 (Compact .40)
    3. Springfield XD40 (Mid size one)

I have tried the Glock (19 and 23) and the Springfield XD (Mid and Full sizes) and tomorrow I am going to finally get to shoot the M&P. I really think I am leaning toward the M&P because it just feels good to me. It doesn't have a manual safety and I do not know much about it's durability/ease of Maintenance but I really think that may be the one. I do plan on carrying it as a primary carry weapon and the only thing that may concern me is its size but what do you guys think?

Thanx Everyone,
    Matt

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Welcome aboard!

I won't say which one I like because it really doesn't matter.

When you've shot them you'll be much closer to knowing where true love lies!