.40 Sub-Compact Carry

This is a discussion on .40 Sub-Compact Carry within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, new to the forum. Been reading the threads here for the last few hours and wanted to post a question and get your advice ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .40 Sub-Compact Carry

.40 Sub-Compact Carry

Hi, new to the forum.
    Been reading the threads here for the last few hours and wanted to post a question and get your advice & opinions. (I ask, and admit I'm no expert)

Currently own and shoot a Smith & Wesson M&P.40. Very pleased with this and have never had a single problem. This may lead me to be biased toward a S&W future purchase. Also have a S&W 19-5 .357 but I like to leave it in the house for home defense reasons.

I'm at a point where I am going to start carrying all the time and I feel the frame on my current .40 is too big, FYI, more than likely I will carry on my ankle.

I like the M&P Sub Compact .40 and while at the range last week I rented the 9mm version, what I didn't like was that my hand didn't fit the short grip well.
    I realize that I can use a full size magazine to help with this but it's still not the most comfortable solution.

I've looked at Springfield's XD-Sub Compact .40 and their option is to add an extension ring to a magazine for a full grip. Looks to be more comfortable for practice and extra capacity as well. I'd probably practice with 150 rounds on large mags and finish 50 with the short once a month.

I'm wondering if the Springfield "X-tension" would fit the S&W magazines, or even if the Springfield and S&W mags are interchangeable.

http://www.springfield-armory.com/st...roducts_id=534

I've listed below what I'm considering and would be interested in feed back from those that are carrying any of these. Really only considering a .40

Smith & Wesson M&P Sub Compact.40
    Springfield Armory XD-Sub Compact .40
    Sig Sauer P239 DAK
    Glock 23 or 27