Question For Revolver Fans

This is a discussion on Question For Revolver Fans within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a S&W 642, which I have been carrying for a few years very comfortably in a Mika pocket holster.However I have been finding ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question For Revolver Fans

Question For Revolver Fans

I have a S&W 642, which I have been carrying for a few years very comfortably in a Mika pocket holster.However I have been finding it not much fun to shoot because of the recoil and find that I have not been going to the range to practice as often as I believe I should.

So, I have been exploring getting another revolver, and please no responses suggesting a semi-automatic( I already have one) which would have less recoil, and thus which I would shoot more, but which I could also carry comfortably, even if not in my pocket, but IWB.

I have been looking at the S&W Models 60 and 640. The 3"Model 60 looks nice, but I wonder about how it would conceal.

All advice from members who carry and are experienced with revolvers will be much appreciated. I am by no means wed to those Models so all suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks.
    "It does not do to leave a dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him."

J. R. R. Tolkien

2. Remove Ads

You can always practice with light loaded wadcutters in your 642. End the session with 5 of your carry loads and call it a day. It goes without saying that a larger heavier full sized revolver will be a lot easier to shoot and control than a 642 belly gun. Airweights are great to carry, but tough to handle with heavier loads and heavier bullet weights.

Senior Moderator
    I would look at the Ruger SP101 it is heavier and better at soaking up some of the recoil

I carry a Taurus 605 with 38+P's because shooting full power .357's are not fun and it takes longer to get off a second shot.