Walther P22 best ammo

Walther P22 best ammo

This is a discussion on Walther P22 best ammo within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am relatively new to guns, but I currently own an HK 40 USP LEM which I may only carry at work. I recently purchased ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Walther P22 best ammo

I am relatively new to guns, but I currently own an HK 40 USP LEM which I may only carry at work. I recently purchased a Walther P22 which I have been using for practice since the 40 ammo is so expensive.

I am probably going to start carrying the P22 for self defense, but I'm not sure what ammo is best. I've been shooting the federal 22 LR ammo for about 200 rounds, and never had a problem.

What is the best/most lethal 22 round.

If at all avoidable, lets not make this an argument about a 22 being too small a round.

I would say the Remington Yellow Jacket Hollow points.

Thumbs up

CCI stingers, 1640 fps

Be careful, I also own a Walther P22 and I shot about 200 rounds though it of cheap ammo out of the 500 box. And I had a build up inside the barrel of metal. The people at the store said it was due to using ammo without a copper coating or something. It was a while ago and I don't exactly remember. So if any one knows what I'm talking about please let us know.
    NRA Member

Distinguished Member Array Gideon's Avatar
    I'll resist the temptation to comment on .22 for CCW

I'd also recommend the CCI Stingers and I'd keep my P22 Very, very clean. I use an actual gun grease on my rails. I can't remember the name of it but it's gold in color and I really like how my auto's function with it. My P22 isn't as reliable with just CLP.