Speed strips

Speed strips

This is a discussion on Speed strips within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This may sound stupid, but does anyone carry 5 rounds in a speed strip for a 5-shot revolver? Is there any drawbacks to having the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Speed strips

Speed strips

This may sound stupid, but does anyone carry 5 rounds in a speed strip for a 5-shot revolver? Is there any drawbacks to having the extra round? I'm new to the speed strip, having always used hks speedloaders, but they certainly are easier to carry.

Distinguished Member Array Gideon's Avatar
    When I see pictures of others, they always seem to carry 3, space, 2. But I always carry 6 and practice loading by 2's which leaves an extra round per strip (I carry two plus what's loaded) and an extra round doesn't hurt and it doesn't get in the way.

Yes, I'm one. Loading 5 instead of 6 was suggested by Mas Ayoob when I took his LFI-1 course, and the advantage is that it gives your fingers a bit more purchase on the strip. Chances are you'll be reloading for an urgent reason, and the 6th round for a 5-shot just slows you down.

Get some dummy rounds or snap caps and practice, practice, practice.

Distinguished Member Array Gideon's Avatar
    I guess I can see the logic of 5 but for me it make me fumble with the three becasue I had to load 2, then 1, then the last 2.

Anyhow, he's right, bottom line is practice, practice, practice. And then practice some more with your eyes up, looking in the direction of the threat....

Fun!

Also Dillion Precision sells a nice case to hold one speed strip on your belt. I'ts pretty nice. I have one and keep a strip there and then one in my strong side front pocket.

I'm also obs/comp enough that I couldn't adapt to an 8-round 1911 mag. They're supposed to hold seven!

5 rounds? That's only 1/3 of ONE magazine, and I carry two!