New to CCW looking for my first pistol

This is a discussion on New to CCW looking for my first pistol within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; These "what should I buy" threads are all over the board (I know, I read many of them before posting), but as the choice in ...

Thread: New to CCW looking for my first pistol

New to CCW looking for my first pistol

These "what should I buy" threads are all over the board (I know, I read many of them before posting), but as the choice in firearms is often very specific to a person and his or her needs, I thought it would be important to ask you all specifically about my situation/needs. Some of you may have advice or see something that is obvious to you that I could never recognize in regards to deciding on a particular firearm because I have very little experience.

First, a little bit about myself. I'm a college student going to Auburn University, 20 years old (turn 21 in May), 5'11", 150 lbs, my family has never owned a gun and my experience is limited to an afternoon of shooting clays with a 12 guage. Until recently I have always thought it was a rediculous idea for average citizens to carry concealed weapons. However, as I get closer and closer to living on my own and having a family I have begun not only change my mind but to seriously consider doing exactly what I once saw as rediculous. I think it took a little while of being on my own and moving outside of the bubble of security that I lived in throughout high school for me to realize the importance of ensuring my safety as well as the safety of my family and those around me. That being said, I am bouncing all over the place when it comes to deciding on a first CCW.