1911 Magazine (Merged)

This is a discussion on 1911 Magazine (Merged) within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to this 1911 thing but have 95% decided to purchase a Kimber Pro. I know that I need a few extra mags. Do ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911 Magazine (Merged)

1911 Magazine (Merged)

I'm new to this 1911 thing but have 95% decided to purchase a Kimber Pro. I know that I need a few extra mags. Do I need to stay with Kimber mags (at god knows what price) or a quality after market brand (suggestions please)?

The gun's new so I know that I'll need to run a bunch of ammo through it to get used to it, wear it in, and for kicks and giggles. Hopefully I won't experience feed problems like some others, and if I do- that Kimber will rectify the problem with some speed.

Thanks for the Info

Ash

2. Remove Ads

Magazine Maintenance

2nd Part of Magazine question:

What is proper maintenance for a magazine. How long can I leave it charged? How long should I rest the springs?

My thoughts, based on absolutly nothing, are to have an extra set of mags resting in the safe, and swap mags once a week to let the other set rest a week. What is the best recommendation. I recently got my CCL, so this has never been an issue before.

Thanks

ash

Get Wilson Combat or Chip McCormick both are quality products

My understanding is that a mag can be left loaded indefinitely. I would think repeated cycling (i.e. loading/unloading) of a spring would cause wear, not static tension (i.e. just keeping it loaded).

As far as other maintenence, I clean the outside of my mags after every use, inside (feeding lip, spring) after about 500 rounds.

Distinguished Member Array T Bone's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by redbird View Post
    Get Wilson Combat or Chip McCormick both are quality products