1911 questions

This is a discussion on 1911 questions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a 1911 newbie and have been running in circles trying to locate good information about the pistol. I've enjoyed time at the range with ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911 questions

1911 questions

I'm a 1911 newbie and have been running in circles trying to locate good information about the pistol. I've enjoyed time at the range with my grandfather's Auto-Ordnance WW2 GI model, but I really don't know much about different models, customization, aftermarket parts, etc.

To make matters worse, the rivalry between the 'Cult of 1911' and everyone else really clouds otherwise good discussions. Throw in the mil-spec vs. custom crowds and things can get downright frustrating.

Does anyone know of a 1911 FAQ somewhere on the web? M1911.org and 1911forum.com are good sites, but fairly cluttered and somewhat time-consuming to browse. What I'd like to read up on at the moment is the running debate concerning hammers, safeties, triggers, guide rods, and the like. Any info would be much appreciated.
    SIC SEMPER TYRANNIS

Proud member NRA, GOA, VCDL

2. Remove Ads

Assistant Administrator
    I am not the 1911 afficionado here but I just remembered I have some TXT files I snagged from posts on THR - I'll try and attach them for you - because they may well provide some useful info. They are just copied from board mainly.

On THR ( http://www.thehighroad.org/index.php ) - if you go browse and search in the autoloaders forum you can search for 1911 and find a whole heap of info - more than you'll digest I suspect - but also may find some good links too. 1911 Tuner there is a mine of info - and he helped me out with a small job on my hammer and disconnect etc some while back.
    Attached Files
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.

"To own a gun and assume that you are armed