Don't Be a Doofuss - - Check Your Weapon!

This is a discussion on Don't Be a Doofuss - - Check Your Weapon! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Confession time, Brethren (and Sistern, if that's a word, and maybe even if it isn't). I went to the range today, which, as always, was ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Don't Be a Doofuss - - Check Your Weapon!

Distinguished Member Array randytulsa2's Avatar

Don't Be a Doofuss - - Check Your Weapon!

Confession time, Brethren (and Sistern, if that's a word, and maybe even if it isn't).

I went to the range today, which, as always, was loads of fun. But I have an embarrassing cautionary tale.

I got a Colt New Agent a while back. I posted about it, and how I really like it.

I head to the range to shoot. Unload the carry ammo, put in a magazine full of range ammo. Rack the slide, flick down the thumb safety, press that crisp Colt trigger and "BANG!". Very satisfying.

But there is only one "bang", 'cause the slide stays all the way back. "A jam?", I think? Re-rack.

Same thing.

As it turns out, a Colt New Agent, like a Colt Defender and (correct me if I am wrong), a Colt Officer's 1911 has two recoil springs. An inner recoil spring and an outer recoil spring.

My outer recoil spring is gone. Poof. Nowhere to be found. I must not have put it back in (or, at the very least not put it back in properly) the last time I reassembled the gun after my last range trip.

Not good.

I am a little miffed that I am without the weapon while I go about acquiring another spring. It's frustrating and inconvenient.

But that's not why I am posting. As much as I appreciate you, my friends, helping me cry in my beer, I post for a more serious purpose.

I had that gun on me umpteen times since my last (all too infrequent) trip to the range. And I trusted it absolutely and positively.

And that's the problem. If I had NEEDED it, it would have been a one-shot wonder.