Need help on Dan Wesson

Need help on Dan Wesson

This is a discussion on Need help on Dan Wesson within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am about to do something I have never done before and that is ask for purchase advice on a forum. Today I visited a ...

Thread: Need help on Dan Wesson

Need help on Dan Wesson

I am about to do something I have never done before and that is ask for purchase advice on a forum. Today I visited a local Pawn shop and down in the lower left hand corner sat A Dan Wesson 357 wheeler, it has the 2" ( maybe 1 7/8" ) 4", 6" and 8" barrels, the DW Patch and Belt buckle, the barrel tool as well as the gauge, no owners manual, but it has the original hard case that looks like a piece of Samsonite luggage from the 60's. The inserts are in the case that hold all the components. The bluing is as close to 100% as I have ever seen, simply beautiful and there is a small envelope with extra front sight inserts. They were asking $1200 for the set. They quickly came down to $1000. I noticed they had no AR's on the wall, so I inquired about a possible trade on a AR. They were very eager as they are telling me AR's are selling above a grand as soon as they get them in. I have a DPMS Sweet 16, bull barrel fluted, with Bushnell Halo sight that I have about $650 in, yes I got a good deal on that rifle!!! AR's are selling for incredible numbers right now, but I have always dreamed of owning a complete DW.set like these. I can't find one like it on Gun Broker. Basically I need to know if this sounds like a good deal or no deal? I figure AR's will always be around and this inflated scare market can't last forever. I still have by old A2 Bushmaster for an AR. The DPMS has about 300 rounds through it. So what do y'all think?

Thanks
    NCH

I forgot to add that there are two sets of grips, a checkered set of lighter wood and a darker set that is smooth with finder groove. Looks just like this set.