Suggestions for all around handgun

This is a discussion on Suggestions for all around handgun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am sorry if a similar discussion has been posted before. I am new to defensivecarry.com. I am in the market for my first handgun. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

I am sorry if a similar discussion has been posted before. I am new to defensivecarry.com. I am in the market for my first handgun. I would like a good all around 9mm gun that would be good on the range, keep in my home for defense, and have the possibility to carry. I would not be carrying everyday, but I would like the ability to when I want to. My budget is a max of $600.

I have looked at a couple of different guns. I have looked at a Ruger 95, Glock 19, and Springfield XD. I kind of narrowed it down to the XD, it fit the best in my hand and I read a lot of good things about it. However, then I also read a lot of good things about 1911, and maybe the 1911's would be easier to carry b/c they are thinner. I don't know Please leave any suggestions between the two or if you have any other suggestions of your own.
    Thank You

First off, welcome to the forum! Get acquainted with the Search function; you'll find loads of information.

Of the ones mentioned, I would go with the Glock 19. You may want to also consider the M&P series from Smith & Wesson.

Is the $600 max budget for just the gun, or total package (extra mags, holster, etc.)?

Glock 19.
    Heavily Medicated For Your Protection

$600 for gun and mags

JD
    Administrator
    With what you have listed, I'd go with either the Glock 19 or the XD Service in 9mm.

1911s are great, but they are not very forgiving on the pocket book by the cost of the gun, mags, and ammunition.

I can conceal a Springfield XDM just as easy as my 1911s so it shouldn't be an issue for you to conceal a G19 or XD.